Oracle Scratchpad

May 13, 2009

One SQL

Filed under: CBO,Execution plans,Hints,Tuning — Jonathan Lewis @ 7:15 pm BST May 13,2009

When I am in America for a few days I usually try to find a local user group and ask them if they’d like to arrange an evening slot for their members. (Last time I was at Oracle Open World I went so far as to do a day trip up to Calgary because I didn’t think I was likely to go there any other way).

Collaborate 09 was no exception, and I contacted the CFOUG who arranged an event on the Monday evening at which I did a presentation called “Optimising through Understanding” where I talk about the analysis that could go into one simple SQL statement, producing reasons why any of several different execution plans might be the most appropriate depending on circumstances.

The presentation is a variation of one I have now given several times – and there is even a voice-over webinar version of it that I linked to from an earlier blog item.

After the event James Taylor, the chairman of CFOUG, asked if I could let him have a copy of the presentation for their website – so I sent him a pdf file of the slides, and I’ve also posted the same pdf file on my blog.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Theme: Rubric. Get a free blog at WordPress.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,268 other followers