Oracle Scratchpad

May 23, 2014

10053 trace

Filed under: CBO,Oracle,Troubleshooting — Jonathan Lewis @ 1:37 pm GMT May 23,2014

I published a note yesterday about enabling SQL trace system-wide for a single statement – and got a response on twitter from Bertrand Drouvot referencing a blog post he’d done a few months ago about using a similar method to dump the optimizer trace (10053) for a statement whenever it was optimized. He also highlighted the dbms_sqldiag package with its dump_trace() procedure – which is something I’d wanted to use a couple of weeks ago but couldn’t remember the package name – and supplied a reference to MoS note 225598.1 which then led on to Greg Rahn’s blog note about dbms_sqldiag.

The package is so important that I decided I’d create a reference note on my blog about it (I finally found my own reference notes on my laptop after getting a clue from Bertrand’s blog about the filename); but, at the same time, I think I have to report that it might not have helped me when I was looking for it two weeks ago. Here’s a critical paragraph from the MoS note:

How to Obtain Tracing of Optimizer Computations (EVENT 10053) (Doc ID 225598.1)

NOTE: The parse environment uses information captured in V$SQL_OPTIMIZER_ENV which does not record all information about the environment that parsed the query such as NLS settings. The result of this is that trace extracted from this may not always generate a trace that is truly representative of what happens when parsed from an application client. For example, if you parse from a client with NLS_SORT set differently to the Database then the application plan may be different to the database and so a trace generated from V$SQL_OPTIMIZER_ENV may cause confusion when the plan for a given cursor in the application is different to the one extracted.

The particular task I wanted to do was to re-optimize a query that had been run by another user (I was logged on as SYS at the time) because the critical user would have added a security predicate based on their current context to the table definitions in the query – and I didn’t know what that predicate would look like, but I knew it would have affected the execution path.  Judging from the note, though, it seems likely that the call to the package wouldn’t have re-acquired the user’s context and might, therefore, not be able to regenerate the necessary predicates. On the other hand, the actual security predicates used during the original optimisation could still be in-memory (in v$vpd_policy) so maybe dump_trace() would be able to do something about them.

Status: to be tested when I next have a few minutes free.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,523 other followers