Oracle Scratchpad

September 23, 2015

Forget-me-nots

Filed under: Oracle,Troubleshooting — Jonathan Lewis @ 8:17 am GMT Sep 23,2015

Here’s a little note that I drafted (according to its date stamp) in January 2013 and then forgot to post. (Which adds a little irony to the title.)

============================================================

Here’s an object lesson in (a) looking at what’s in front of you, and (b) how hard it is to remember all the details.

I ran a script today [ED: i.e. some time early Jan 2013] that I’ve have no problems with in earlier versions of Oracle, but today I was running it against 11.2.0.3 for the first time, and hit a problem with autotrace:

SQL> set autotrace on
ERROR:
ORA-28002: the password will expire within 5 days

SP2-0619: Error while connecting
SP2-0611: Error enabling STATISTICS report

Anyone who reads the preceding text closely will see immediately what the problem is – but I saw the bottom line and immediately decided that I had forgotten to set up the plustrace role in this database. So I logged on as SYS and ran the script to create it ($ORACLE_HOME/sqlplus/admin/plustrce.sql) – and discovered that the role already existed. So I decided that I hadn’t granted plustrace to my test_user role, but that didn’t help; so I decided that this was clearly a case of a role that had to be assigned directly to a user, and that didn’t help.

THEN I read the error message properly, changed my password, and everything worked the way as expected.

That’s part (a) of the lesson, here’s part (b): I wrote about running int the same issue nearly two years ago (only that time I had a little excuse for not spotting the problem instantly).

============================================================

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.